Officers

Executive Board | Sections & Officers | Interest Groups & Coordinators
Committees & Chairs | LLA Office

EXECUTIVE BOARD

Association business is conducted by the Executive Board at quarterly meetings. The Executive Board consists of the elected officers of the Corporation, the LLA representative to the American Library Association, the LLA representative to the Southeastern Library Association, and the elected Section chairmen. Officers are President, Vice President/President-Elect, Second Vice President, Secretary, Parliamentarian, and Immediate Past President. Section chairmen include Academic, Government Documents Round Table (GODORT), Louisiana Association of School Librarians (LASL), Louisiana Support Staff Association of Libraries (LaSSAL), Public, Subject Specialists, and Trustees. The editor of Louisiana Libraries and the LLA Executive Director are nonvoting members of the Executive Board.

Louisiana Library Association Officers and Executive Board

President
Mary Cosper-LeBoeuf
Email: mcleboeuf@mytpl.org
Work Phone: (985) 876-5861
Fax: (985) 876-5864

1st Vice President / President Elect
Patricia Brown
Email: pbrown@lsue.edu
Work Phone: (337) 550-1385

2nd Vice President
Van Viator
Email: van.viator@nicholls.edu
Work Phone: (985) 859-7353

Past President
Paula Clemmons
Email: pclemmons@episcopaldayschool.org

Secretary
Laura-Ellen Ayres 
Email: lea@rpl.org
Work Phone: (318) 445-6436 x 227

ALA Councilor
Vivian McCain
Email: vmccain@mylpl.org
Work Phone: (318) 513-5508
Fax: (318) 251-4198

Louisiana Libraries Editor
Celise Reech-Harper
Email: celise@beau.org
Work Phone: (337) 463-6217 x22


Back to Top

 

SECTIONS

Special interests of members are met by Sections. Members may join as many Sections as they wish. Membership in one Section is part of basic Association dues. Each additional Section costs $6.00. Sections conduct preconferences, workshops and seminars during the year, present awards, and plan and conduct a program and meeting at each Annual Conference.

Sections are integral components of the Association. Their members assist in identifying problems and issues and in recommending solutions. Sections also plan programs and produce publications germane to their purpose, and cooperate in meeting the professional needs of their members. Each Section elects officers to carry out its goals and objectives.

The Academic Library Section provides a network for the exchange of ideas, enhances leadership for college and university libraries, and promotes study and research relevant to academic libraries.

Academic Chair
David Duggar
Email: ddugga@lsuhsc.edu
Work Phone: (318) 675-5472

Vice Chair
Michael Matthews
Email: matthewsm@nsula.edu
Work Phone: (318) 357-4419

Secretary
Hayley Johnson
Email: hayley.johnson@nicholls.edu
Work Phone: (985) 448-4670


The Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) provides a focal point for discussing and exchanging ideas about information from all levels of government. The Section also provides a means for initiating and supporting programs and publications to increase availability, use, bibliographic control, and management of these documents.

GODORT Chair
Jasmine Richard
Email: jasmine.richard@fletcher.edu
Work Phone: (985) 448-3236

Vice Chair / Chair Elect
Abigail DeSoto
Email: desoto@latech.edu
Work Phone: (318) 315-1108

2nd Vice Chair
Eric Wedig
Email: wedig@tulane.edu
Work Phone: (504) 865-5644

Secretary
Megan Bell
Email: historyxu21@netscape.net
Work Phone: (225) 323-4317


The Louisiana Association of School Librarians (LASL) provides leadership for the school library media specialist and promotes both personal and professional growth. The Section disseminates news concerning state and national issues and trends affecting the profession; provides educational opportunities to keep members informed about professional issues; and links school library media specialists with knowledgeable colleagues.

LASL President

Cathy Seal
Email: cseal2@gmail.com
Phone: (225) 405-9899

1st Vice President / President Elect
Susan Gauthier
Email: sgauthier1@ebrschools.org
Work Phone: (225) 226-7610

2nd Vice President
Leslie Carloss
Email: carlossl@ocsvikings.com
Work Phone: (337) 942-5404 x104

Secretary
Janet Gary
Email: jgary@iberia.k12.la.us
Work Phone: (337) 364-3927

Parliamentarian
Jan McGee
Email: jmcgee55@gmail.com
Work Phone: 318-396-8495


The Louisiana Support Staff Association of Libraries (LaSSAL) provides opportunities for continuing education to library support staff. Support staff comprises a large percentage of library personnel and includes para-professionals, library technicians, library assistants and personnel under various civil service classifications. LaSSAL promotes sharing ideas and communication among our members. We encourage personal and professional development to ensure excellent library service throughout Louisiana.

LaSSAL Chair
Elissa Plank
Email: esp1061@lsu.edu
Work Phone: (225) 578-3216

Vice Chair / Chair Elect
Sarah Creekmore
Email: screekmore@mylpl.org
Work Phone: (318) 513-5516

Treasurer
Janis Smith
Email: janis.smith@yahoo.com
Work Phone: (318) 435-4336

Secretary
Jane Vidrine
Email: jmvidrine@louisiana.edu
Work Phone: (337) 482-1127
Fax: (337) 482-5841 

The Public Library Section promotes the professional growth and development of public library service and public librarians. The Section goals include seeking adequate funds for public libraries through community support; improving library administration and management; integrating technology into library operations; educating and training public library personnel; and exchanging ideas with library supporters to influence public library service.

Public Chair
Jeremy Bolom
Email: jbolom@mylpl.org
Work Phone: (318) 235-1586
Fax: (318) 251-5945

Vice Chair / Chair Elect
Julie Champagne Vidos
Email: jchampag@state.lib.la.us

Secretary
Teresa Elberson
Email: teresa.elberson@lafayettepubliclibary.org
Work Phone: (337) 261-5775

Parliamentarian
Rebecca Cloud
Email: rcloud@mylpl.org
Work Phone: (318) 513-5510


The Subject Specialists Section encourages those with a particular subject interest or expertise to become members. They may work with a special library, information center or collection, or have a personal interest in a special subject. Subject Specialists Newsletters.

Subject Specialists Chair
Sherry Curry
Email: sherry@louisiana.edu
Work Phone: (337) 482-5704

Vice Chair / Chair Elect
Will Olmstadt 
Email: wolmst@lsuhsc.edu
Work Phone: (318) 675-6487

Secretary
Charlene Bonnette
Email: cbonnette@slol.lib.la.us


The Trustees Section supports the development of public library service and recognizes the responsibility of its members to be effective leaders to benefit the libraries they represent. The Section identifies and coordinates programs for the development and education of trustees, and encourages participation in related organizations. The Section co-sponsors programs and publications with the Public Library Section.

Trustees Chair
Donald Westmoreland
Email: donald@stpl.us
Work Phone: (985) 871-1219

Trustees Secretary
Al Barron
Email: abarron@state.lib.la.us
Work Phone: (985) 515-7071
Fax: (985) 839-7807


Back to Top

 

LLA OFFICE

8550 United Plaza Blvd., Ste 1001
Baton Rouge, LA  70809

local: (225) 922-4642
toll-free: (877) 550-7890
fax: (225) 408-4422
e-mail: office@llaonline.org